Elector Committee Convenes and Elects Nominating Committee for Bishop Search

The Elector Committee convened at the Episcopal Church Center of Utah to perform the canonical task of electing a nominating committee to serve in the selection of a new Bishop. The electors broke into two caucuses separating clerics from the laity to elect four clergy members and six lay members as per the canons. Those elected are:
The Rev. Michael Carney, St. Elizabeth’s, Whiterocks, UT
The Very Rev. Tyler Doherty, Cathedral Church of St. Mark, Salt Lake City, UT
The Rev. Christopher Szarke, St. James’, Midvale, UT
The Rev. Kathalin Walker, St. David’s, Page AZ.
Atem Aleu, All Saints, Salt Lake City, UT
Rhonda Dossett, St. Paul’s, Salt Lake City, UT
William Downes, Cathedral Church of St. Mark, Salt Lake City, UT
Mary McEntire, St. Luke’s, Park City, UT
Mike Mitchell, St. Jame’s Midvale, UT
Rick Stevenson, St. Stephen’s, West Valley City, UT
Ultimately, the nominating committee will select finalists for the 12th bishop of the diocese. The January 11th meeting was only the fifth time the diocese has been in an election process for a new bishop. Previous to 1971, Utah was in a Missionary District and bishops were selected for our diocese.
Standing Committee President Nancy Tanner says she was pleased and moved by the prayerful way in which the electors served the diocese and the greater church at this transitional time. She says now the search process is really underway. The Process will take nearly two years before we will have a new bishop to follow the 11th Bishop, The Rt. Rev. Scott B. Hayashi. Bishop Hayashi announced his retirement/resignation but will continue to serve as diocesan bishop until December 2021.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email